Greg Ellis news, rumors and stats

Greg Ellis

Free Agent
Defensive Line

Ht: 0.0 | Wt: 0

News | Stats | Stat vs. Team | Targets | Injury | Depth Chart | Roster


Player News

From -- thru  --


Cowboys | Owner not ruling out Ellis return

Sat, 13 Mar 2010 07:53:33 -0800

Clarence Hill, of the Fort Worth Star-Telegram, reports Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones said he is open to signing free-agent DL Greg Ellis (Raiders). "It's not unrealistic is the best way to say it," Jones said. Ellis has previously said that he would like the opportunity to return to the Cowboys.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Cowboys | Ellis open to returning

Wed, 10 Mar 2010 07:54:55 -0800

Calvin Watkins, of ESPNDallas.com, reports the agent for free-agent DL Greg Ellis (Raiders), James Williams, said Ellis is open to returning to the Dallas Cowboys in a reserve role.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis waived

Mon, 08 Mar 2010 15:08:45 -0800

Adam Schefter, of ESPN, reports the Oakland Raiders have waived DE Greg Ellis.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis practices in full Friday

Fri, 01 Jan 2010 21:32:59 -0800

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) practiced in full Friday, Jan. 1, and he is listed as questionable for Week 17. He should be able to play in the game.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis misses practice Thursday

Thu, 31 Dec 2009 16:25:03 -0800

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) missed the team's practice Thursday, Dec. 31, but he will likely start Week 17.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Walker, Ellis miss practice Wednesday

Wed, 30 Dec 2009 15:29:31 -0800

Oakland Raiders OT Langston Walker (ankle) and DE Greg Ellis (knee) did not participate in practice Wednesday, Dec. 30.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis misses practice Thursday

Thu, 24 Dec 2009 14:15:50 -0800

Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis (knee) did not practice Thursday, Dec. 24, but is expected to start in Week 16.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Four miss practice Wednesday

Wed, 23 Dec 2009 19:21:01 -0800

CBSSports.com reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee), TE Brandon Myers (concussion), WR Darrius Heyward-Bey (foot) and RB Justin Fargas (knee) missed the team's practice Wednesday, Dec. 23.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis practices in full Friday

Fri, 18 Dec 2009 18:56:54 -0800

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) practiced in full Friday, Dec. 18, and he is listed as probable for Week 15.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis misses practice Thursday

Thu, 17 Dec 2009 17:05:56 -0800

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) missed the team's practice Thursday, Dec. 17, but he could play Week 15.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis advised to have offseason surgery

Tue, 15 Dec 2009 10:50:17 -0800

Phil Barber, of The Santa Rosa Press Democrat, reports Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis (knee) said Monday, Dec. 14, that the team doctor advised him to have his left knee operated on during the offseason. The knee has been troubling Ellis all season. Ellis had it scoped during the team's bye week and has missed two games since then.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis questionable for Week 14

Fri, 11 Dec 2009 15:41:53 -0800

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) was limited during practice Friday, Dec. 11. He is listed as questionable for Week 14.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis misses practice Thursday

Thu, 10 Dec 2009 18:35:52 -0800

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) missed the team's practice Thursday, Dec. 10, and he might not play Week 14.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis misses practice Wednesday

Wed, 09 Dec 2009 19:55:48 -0800

Jerry McDonald, of ANG Newspapers, reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) missed the team's practice Wednesday, Dec. 9. Head coach Tom Cable is holding out hope Ellis will be able to play Week 14.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis inactive for Week 13

Sun, 06 Dec 2009 09:13:16 -0800

David White, of the San Francisco Chronicle, reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) is inactive for Week 13 against the Pittsburgh Steelers. As reported earlier, DL Matt Shaughnessy will start in Ellis' place.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Week 13 Inactives

Sun, 06 Dec 2009 09:09:19 -0800

The Oakland Raiders have declared QB Charlie Frye, WR Darrius Heyward-Bey, LB David Nixon, OG Erik Pears, DL Greg Ellis, WR Javon Walker, OT Khalif Barnes, WR Nick Miller inactive for Week 13.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Shaughnessy expected to start in Week 13

Sat, 05 Dec 2009 08:01:45 -0800

Steve Corkran, of the Oakland Tribune, reports Oakland Raiders DL Matt Shaughnessy is expected to start at left defensive end in Week 13 in place of DL Greg Ellis (knee).

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis doubtful for Week 13

Fri, 04 Dec 2009 18:00:51 -0800

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) did not participate in practice Friday, Dec. 4. He is listed as doubtful for Week 13 and is not expected to play.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis misses practice Thursday

Thu, 03 Dec 2009 17:00:33 -0800

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) missed the team's practice Thursday, Dec. 3, and he might not play Week 13. DL Matt Shaughnessy would start in his place.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis misses practice Wednesday

Wed, 02 Dec 2009 18:56:12 -0800

CBSSports.com reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) missed the team's practice Wednesday, Dec. 2, but he "is doing much better," according to head coach Tom Cable. Ellis is considered questionable for Week 13. If he is unable to play, DL Matt Shaughnessy would start and DL Jay Richardson would play a bigger role.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis questionable for Week 13

Tue, 01 Dec 2009 08:43:19 -0800

Jerry McDonald, of ANG Newspapers, reports Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis (knee) is questionable for Week 13.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis unable to finish Week 12

Fri, 27 Nov 2009 08:23:51 -0800

Jerry McDonald, of ANG Newspapers, reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) was not able to finish the team's Week 12 game because swelling in his knee. Ellis said he is not sure why his knee started to swell.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis practices in full Wednesday

Wed, 25 Nov 2009 14:38:02 -0800

Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis (knee, shoulder) practiced in full Wednesday, Nov. 25, and is probable for the team's Week 12 game Thursday, Nov. 26.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis limited Tuesday

Tue, 24 Nov 2009 16:32:20 -0800

CBSSports.com reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee, shoulder) was limited in practice Tuesday, Nov. 24, but head coach Tom Cable said he expects Ellis to play Week 12.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Three limited Monday

Mon, 23 Nov 2009 19:00:19 -0800

Bill Nichols, of The Dallas Morning News, reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee), DE Richard Seymour (back) and WR Javon Walker (hamstring) were limited in practice Monday, Nov. 23, according to the Raiders' injury report.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis expects to start in Week 11

Sat, 21 Nov 2009 07:18:50 -0800

David White, of the San Francisco Chronicle, reports Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis (shoulder, knee) expects to start in Week 11.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis limited Friday, expected to play Week 11

Fri, 20 Nov 2009 18:23:38 -0800

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (shoulder, knee) was limited in practice Friday, Nov. 20, and he is listed as questionable for Week 11. He is expected to play and could start the game.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis increases work load Thursday

Thu, 19 Nov 2009 18:17:55 -0800

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (shoulder, knee) increased his work load during practice Thursday, Nov. 19, but he could start the team's Week 11 game.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | G. Ellis limited Wednesday

Wed, 18 Nov 2009 19:59:10 -0800

Jerry McDonald, of ANG Newspapers, reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee, shoulder) was limited during the team's practice Wednesday, Nov. 18. Head coach Tom Cable said Elllis could possibly play Week 11.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Week 10 Inactives

Sun, 15 Nov 2009 12:37:59 -0800

The Oakland Raiders have declared QB Charlie Frye, OG Erik Pears, DL Greg Ellis, WR Javon Walker, OT Khalif Barnes, WR Nick Miller, LB Ricky Brown, WR Todd Watkins inactive for Week 10.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis takes part in practice Friday

Fri, 13 Nov 2009 18:48:16 -0800

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (shoulder, knee) took part in the team's practice Friday, Nov. 13, and is listed as questionable for Week 10. Head coach Tom Cable said Ellis did 40 to 50 percent of the snaps in practice, and that Ellis will be a game-time decision.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis misses practice Thursday

Thu, 12 Nov 2009 16:23:08 -0800

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (shoulder, knee) missed the team's practice Thursday, Nov. 12. He could practice Friday, Nov. 13, and has not been ruled out for Week 10.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis underwent surgery on shoulder

Wed, 11 Nov 2009 17:07:40 -0800

CBSSports.com reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee, shoulder) also underwent arthroscopic shoulder surgery last week, according to head coach Tom Cable. Cable still hasn't ruled Ellis out for Week 10.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis not ruled out for Week 10

Sat, 07 Nov 2009 08:08:35 -0800

Jerry McDonald, of ANG Newspapers, reports Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis (knee) underwent successful arthroscopic surgery on his arthritic knee. Head coach Tom Cable would not rule Ellis out of the team's Week 10 game.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis to undergo arthroscopic knee surgery Wednesday

Mon, 02 Nov 2009 16:26:02 -0800

CBSSports.com reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) will undergo arthroscopic knee surgery Wednesday, Nov. 4. DE Matt Shaughnessy would make his first NFL start Week 10 if Ellis is unable to play.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis misses practice Friday

Fri, 30 Oct 2009 18:59:49 -0700

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) missed the team's practice Friday, Oct. 30. He is listed as questionable for Week 8, but he will play.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis misses practice Friday

Fri, 30 Oct 2009 14:06:12 -0700

Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis (knee) did not practice Friday, Oct. 30, and is questionable for Week 8.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis misses practice Thursday

Thu, 29 Oct 2009 16:45:18 -0700

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) missed the team's practice Thursday, Oct. 29, but he will probably play Week 8.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis misses practice Wednesday

Wed, 28 Oct 2009 19:01:38 -0700

CBSSports.com reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) missed the team's practice Wednesday, Oct. 28.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis expected to play Week 7

Sat, 24 Oct 2009 07:54:38 -0700

Jerry McDonald, of ANG Newspapers, reports Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis (knee) is expected to play in the team's Week 7 game.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | G. Ellis misses practice Friday

Fri, 23 Oct 2009 17:36:43 -0700

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) missed the team's practice Friday, Oct. 23. He is listed as questionable for Week 7, but he will probably play.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis questionable for Week 7

Fri, 23 Oct 2009 15:14:44 -0700

Jerry McDonald, of the Contra Costa Times, reports Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis (knee) did not practice Friday, Oct. 23, and is questionable but expected to play in Week 7.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis limited in practice Thursday

Thu, 22 Oct 2009 19:20:52 -0700

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) was limited in practice Thursday, Oct. 22, but he is expected to play Week 7.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Carlisle, Ellis limited Wednesday

Wed, 21 Oct 2009 15:45:46 -0700

Oakland Raiders OG Cooper Carlisle (ankle) and DE Greg Ellis (knee) were limited during practice Wednesday, Oct. 21.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis questionable for Week 6

Fri, 16 Oct 2009 15:53:27 -0700

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) was limited during practice Friday, Oct. 16. He is listed as questionable for Week 6 but is expected to play.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis limited Thursday, could be active Week 6

Thu, 15 Oct 2009 18:25:22 -0700

Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) was limited in practice Thursday, Oct. 15, but he is expected to start Week 6.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis misses practice Wednesday

Wed, 14 Oct 2009 21:21:14 -0700

Jerry McDonald, of ANG Newspapers, reports Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (knee) did not practice Wednesday, Oct. 14.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis could be limited in practice

Tue, 13 Oct 2009 07:12:23 -0700

Jerry McDonald, of ANG Newspapers, reports Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis (knee) had an arthritic knee drained, a condition that could limit him in practice.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis off to fast start

Tue, 22 Sep 2009 06:42:13 -0700

Jerry McDonald, of ANG Newspapers, reports Oakland Raiders DL Greg Ellis has recorded three sacks through two weeks.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook

Raiders | Ellis should play Week 2

Fri, 18 Sep 2009 19:13:23 -0700

Updating a previous item, Oakland Raiders DE Greg Ellis (shoulder) should play in the team's Week 2 game.

Comment (0) | Share: Tweet!Share on Facebook