Giants | Melky Cabrera ineligible to win batting title
San Francisco Giants OF Melky Cabrera has been ruled ineligible to win the batting title. The Players' Association worked out a one-time amendment to Rule 10.22(a) with MLB officials, one day after Commissioner Bud Selig said publicly that he was not likely to take action on the matter. Rule 10.22(a) permits a player to be recognized as the official winner if extra hitless at-bats are added to his average and it remains higher than any qualifying player. Cabrera reportedly asked to be removed from consideration for the title.
2012-09-21 11:47:34 | Source: CSNBayArea.com - Andrew Baggarly
Access more Melky Cabrera news and rumors by clicking here....
For additional MLB information, please view KFFL's MLB Hot off the Wire.